There are a few possible reasons why you are seeing the "Previously Activated" error message.
- You may be too close to other Tiles that have already been activated.
Check your surroundings to make sure previously activated Tiles are not in the vicinity of your device. Once you've set some distance between you and already activated Tiles (we suggest a different room just in case), try activating your new Tile again.
- You are the Tile's second owner.
- You may have bought a Tile from an unauthorized dealer.
If you didn’t purchase your Tile on our website or through one of our authorized retailers, it’s possible that the Tile may already have been activated.
When a Tile is activated to an account, it cannot be deactivated. However, it can be transferred to another account. In order to protect your privacy, you can have the seller contact our Customer Care team using their Tile app account email address so that we can transfer the Tile to you.
If you are familiar with the seller and trust them with your email information, you can follow the steps to transfer the Tile.